NSW Country Rugby Union


All About Us

New South Wales Country Rugby Union (NSWCRU) is the largest Rugby province in the world.

The Union encompasses over 80% of the regional and rural areas of New South Wales outside the Sydney metropolitan district. Nine zones make up the Union comprising over one hundred clubs with a Senior, Junior, Schools and Women player base of over thirty six thousand people (36,000).

Each year the Union conducts Country Championships in the Senior, Junior Age, Schools and Women Divisions.

Zone competitions kick off in late March early April and culminate in final series during September. NSWCRU provides a representative pathway for players to achieve higher honours in the following teams:

  • NSW Country First XV - Cockatoos
  • NSW Country Colts (U20's)
  • NSW Country Junior Cockatoos (U14's - U18's)
  • NSW Country Womens - Corellas
  • NSW Country Schools XV
NSWCRU administers the game of Rugby Union through its affiliates and zones.
NSWCRU Affiliates are:

  • New South Wales Country Junior Rugby Union
  • New South Wales Country Schools Rugby Union
  • New South Wales Country Referees Association
  • New South Wales Country Womens Rugby Union 
  • NSW Country Eagles
NSWCRU Zones are:
  • Central Coast Rugby Union
  • Central North Rugby Union
  • Central West Rugby Union
  • Far North Coast Rugby Union
  • Illawarra District Rugby Union
  • Mid North Coast Rugby Union
  • New England Rugby Union
  • Newcastle Hunter Rugby Union
  • Western Plains