NSW Country Rugby Union

KISS The Frog

Kiss the Frog Foundation Launched in Style

Monday, 12 October 2009

Players from around the state will come together at 3.00pm on Saturday, 10 October at Scone to play a match to assist former NSW Country Cockatoo player Josh Clift who is recovering from a series of shattering incidents.

In July 2008 Josh broke his neck in a tackle whilst playing for Scone against Tamworth which left him briefly paralysed from the neck down.  After two operations and within two weeks he walked out of the RNS Hospital, and after twelve weeks had his life back on track.

Nine days later Josh’s life took another dramatic turn when he was involved in a motor vehicle accident which left him fighting for his life.  He suffered serious head injuries and had again broken his neck which had left him as an incomplete quadriplegic, with a badly bruised and shocked spine.

Josh has spent the time since his second accident undergoing rehabilitation at the Royal North Shore Hospital, the Ryde Royal Rehabilitation Centre and recently at the Shepherd Centre in Atlanta which specialises in spinal rehabilitation.

The Kiss the Frog Foundation has been established to raise funds to assist Josh with his rehabilitation, equipment and services which are paramount in achieving his successful recovery and independence both in Australia and overseas.

The NSW Country President’s XV will play the Kiss the Frog Invitation XV to launch the establishment of the foundation, and to assist in raising much needed awareness and funds.

The NSW Country President’s XV will comprise of players from every NSW Country Zone, together with players from Monaro, Southern Inland and some Sydney clubs, to play in what should be a free flowing game of Rugby.

The majority of the NSW Country President’s XV are current or past NSW Country Cockatoos, with the remainder being players earmarked as being prospective Country Representatives.

NSW Country President’s XV Squad

Props – John Adams (Guyra), Ron Lawrence (Canowindra), Fergus McIntosh (Glen Innes), Chris Plunkett (Bathurst)

Hookers – Ron Hobden (UNE Barbarians), Jay Tregonning (Wollongong Vikings)

Locks – Matt Dun (Newcastle Uni), Dean Matthews (Dubbo Roos), Jeff Wilson (Lennox Head), Matt Waterford (Bathurst)

Flankers – Alex Burnheim (Coonamble), Ben Colley (Moree), Nick Davidson (Maitland)

No 8’s – Ross Duncan (Dubbo Rhinos), Matt Meggison (Wagga Waratahs)

Halves – Tom Hollis (St Alberts College), Ben Wallace (Coffs Breakers)

5/8’s – Simon Newton (Inverell), Michael Webber (Goulburn)

Centres – Heath Riggs (Moree), Richie Steele (Warren), Sam Stewart (Lennox Head)

Wings – Francis Fainifo (Randwick), David Kennedy (Newcastle Uni)

Fullbacks – Will Guest (Coffs Crushers), Dennis Raft (Terrigal)