NSW Country Rugby Union

Duff Top Corella

Duff Top Corella

Britney Duff from the Newcastle University Club has been named as the NSW Country Women’s Rugby Union Player of the Year for the 2017 season.

The award was announced and presented at the conclusion of the BuildCorp Women’s National Championships at Runaway Bay on the Gold Coast.

Duff has been a member of the Corellas for the last five years, having made her debut during the 2013 season, and is now considered as one of the senior players in the Corellas ranks.

The utility player who covers hooker, flanker and half-back had a solid season for the Corellas, in what was a young team, which featured a large number of players on debut.

Duff was a member of the Hunter Women’s Team which won the Country Championships, and also appeared in each of the Corellas seven representative matches during the season.

The Corellas had an extended program which included matches against Sydney, ACT and Victoria leading into the National Women’s Championships, which then saw the team take on Queensland, ACT, Victoria and Australian Combined Services.

Britney Duff polled votes from the judges in the majority of the representative matches, and was a deserved winner of the NSW Country Women’s Player of the Year Award.

Country Women’s Player of the Year Winners
• 2004 – Rebecca Trethowan (Flanker) – Hunter
• 2005 – Tobie McGann (Five-Eight) - Hunter
• 2006 – Rebecca Trethowan (Flanker) - Hunter
• 2007 – Lousie Morrison (Lock) - Hunter
• 2008 – Rebecca Threthowan (Flanker) – Hunter
• 2009 – Michelle Perry (Fullback) – Central West
• 2010 – Angella Hipwell (Flanker) – Hunter
• 2011 – Vanessa Foliaki (Five-Eight) – Central West
• 2012 – Megan Shanahan (No 8) – Central West
• 2013 – Rebecca Smyth (Nee Trethowan) (Flanker) – Central West
• 2014 – Inge Visser (No 8) – Central West
• 2015 – Annika Jamieson (Lock) – Hunter
• 2016 – Kate Gilbert (Centre) – Hunter
• 2017 – Britney Duff (Flanker) - Hunter